Publisher of leading trade magazines for the Footwear, Leather-goods, Leather & PPE industries

PLEASE NOTE: We are currently busy with the rollout of the new website so there are elements that are currently still being tweaked and content being added.

2016 S&V Newsletter No 12, March 29

S&V Footwear and Leather Goods / S&V African Leather

 

Exclusive

Edcon: Who’s who in footwear, leather goods & hosiery

Johannesburg (SA) – Edcon has released the new list of GMs, buyers and assistant buyers for both Edgars and Edcon Discount Division.

Edgars footwear, accessories & intimate wear
Mandi Phillips GM kids, footwear, intimate wear & accessories (0)11 495 6721 aphillips2@edcon.co.za
Noma Mdlongwa Snr secretary to the GM (0)11 495 1646 Nmdlongwa@edcon.co.za
Richard Kornau Executive planning manager (0)11 495 6467 rkornau@edcon.co.za
Judi Meyerson Executive buying manager (0)11 495 1894 jmeyerson@edcon.co.za
Charmaine Myeni Spec buyer men’s branded footwear & consignment (0)11 495 6339 cmyeni@edcon.co.za
Estelle Singaram Assistant buyer men’s branded footwear & consignment (0)11 495 4606 esingaram2@edcon.co.za
Jean Watson Spec buyer free, Merien Hall, slippers & costume jewellery (0)11 495 1558 jwatson@edcon.co.za
Jeannie Beyers Spec buyer girls, boys & school footwear (0)11 495 6538 jvanzyl@edcon.co.za
Jomandie Taljaard Spec buyer sleepwear, swimwear & hosiery (0)11 495 7155 jtaljaard@edcon.co.za
Joshano Jugoo Spec buyer Kelso footwear (0)11 495 7276 jjugoo@edcon.co.za
Laura Kass Spec buyer private label underwear (0)11 495 4664 jkass@edcon.co.za
Laurelle Booysen Assistant buyer intimate wear brands (0)11 495 7622 lbooysen@edcon.co.za
Melody Ndlovu Assistant buyer men’s house brands & kids’ footwear (0)11 495 6928 jndlovu@edcon.co.za
Moipone Qekisi Assis buyer free Merien Hall, slippers & costume jewellery (0)11 495 7678 mqekisi@edcon.co.za
Mpho Ntlele Assistant buyer Kelso footwear (0)11 495 6499 Mntlele@edcon.co.za
Shan Smith Spec buyer intimate wear brands (0)11 495 7783 ssmith4@edcon.co.za
Sylvia Mochone Spec buyer unbranded accessories & BTS bags (0)11 495 6783 smochone@edcon.co.za
Tsholo Molefe Assistant buyer private label underwear & sleepwear (0)11 495 6165 tmolefe@edcon.co.za
Vuyo Yekiso Spec buyer ladies’ branded footwear & accessories (0)11 495 6789 vyekiso@edcon.co.za
Yashika Makan Assis buyer unbranded handbags, BTS ladies’ branded Footwear & accessories (0)11 495 6142 ymakan@edcon.co.za
Ziyaad Kara Spec buyer men’s house brands footwear, accessories & travel (0)11 495 7048 zkara@edcon.co.za
 
Edcon Discount Division
Mark Riley GM Men’s and Boys’ (0)11 495 7026 mriley@edcon.co.za
Achim Kunkel GM Ladies’ and Girls’ (0)11 495 6037 akunkel@edcon.co.za
Jacqueline Pratt Buyer ladies’ hosiery. (0)11 495 4634 Jpratt@edcon.co.za
Pumza Mkentane Buyer men’s & boys’ hosiery (0)11 495 7435 pmketane@edcon.co.za
Sumeya Sha Buyer girls’ and pre-girls’ footwear (0)11 495 1857 ssha@edcon.co.za
Melanie Raghubir Buyer ladies’ footwear (flats) (0)11 495 7490 mraghubir@edcon.co.za
Jacqueline Oosthuizen  Buyer ladies’ footwear (heels & boots) (0)11 495 7565 joosthuizen@edcon.co.za
Naledi Buthelezi Buyer male footwear (0)11 495 7145 Nbuthelezi2@edcon.co.za
Candice Jarvis Buyer handbags, belts, purses & wallets (0)11 495 6547 cjarvis@edcon.co.za
Veneshree Chetty Buyer luggage (0)11 495 6441 Vchetty3@edcon.co.za

 

 

Events

Customs Control & Duty Act presentation

Durban (SA) – SAFLEC has teamed up with Africa Edge to hold a workshop tomorrow (Wednesday, March 30) on the new Customs Control and Duty Act which comes into operation soon.
It will be held at Nedbank Kingsmead, 90 Bram Fischer Road (Ordnance Road), Durban.
Registration is at 8.30. The presentations will be from 9-11, followed by a light lunch. – [RSVP to info2@saflec.co.za or call Prenisha on 031 266 1472]

 

Kasodur: New source of local TPR

Wellington (SA) – Thermoplastic polyurethane (TPU) manufacturer Kasodur has entered the thermoplastic rubber (TPR) market, specifically with unit soles for the footwear industry in mind.
In a statement, MD Alan Richards said: “After 25 years of making TPU locally, Kasodur has recently started compounding quality TPR grades in their Wellington factory in addition to their Kasothan TPU grades.
“Successful trials have been run over the last 6 months and we are now geared up for full production with marketing to be handled by Greg Daniel and his team at KMA SA Marketing.
“A high percentage of TPR used in the footwear industry is imported and Kasodur/KMA SA intend to focus on larger clients using imported material, many of whom have used the Kasothan brand of TPU for many years and accordingly don’t need to be sold on the quality and service offered to local converters.
“Being the only compounder in the Cape, we are well placed to service the local market quickly and efficiently. “Under the brand Kasoprene, TPR of various grades and hardnesses are available in natural, black and pre-coloured when called for.
“By our estimate, 60% of the TPR used in the footwear industry is imported, and what with exchange rates and conditions in offshore markets, we hope our timing is spot on in targeting import replacements.” – [+27 (0)21 864 2500, rafdurgroup@lando.co.za]

 

 

Milestones

Durban (SA) – Former Futura Footwear/Bata SA national sales manager Alex Gordon has joined Novita Footwear as sales manager following mandatory retirement at the end of February. He spent 37 years with Bata and Futura.

 

Cape Town (SA) – As of the beginning of this year, Lauren Trappler has become a shareholder, with her husband Gary, of hospitality- and safety footwear distributor Cheftrapps. She is also the only director of the business, and is now responsible for most of its day-to-day running. He has resumed his law practice, operating from the same offices in Newmarket St, Woodstock.

Please enable image download for this message to view this image content.
Gary and Lauren Trappler.

 

SLTC Convention: Further details

Pietermaritzburg (SA) – The 64th Annual convention will be held at Brahman Hills Lodge in the Nottingham Road area on May 13 and 14. It will follow the same format as last year – a cocktail party on the Friday night, followed by the convention and AGM on Saturday, the gala dinner on Saturday night, and checking out on Sunday morning.
The rooms are charged per room and not per person, so please try to get spouses and partners to join us.
We are finalising the costs for dinners etc and will send out the forms as soon as we have the information.
There are 30 hotel rooms and 30 lodge accommodation units (2/3 roomed lodges each room with its own en-suite bathroom). We will fill the hotel rooms first. – Nicola Phipps [079 495 1926, nphipps@telkomsa.net]

 

 

ABSA Agri Trends 08/03: Hides & skins prices

The average hide price traded higher over the past week at R14.20/kg green. Hide prices are determined by the average of RMAA and independent companies.
The average price for Dorper skins traded lower at R67.50/skin and Merino lower at R93.29/skin.
The average price for ostrich skins dropped 0.53% to R1550.67.
Ostrich raw meat exports dropped 1.38% to R42.29/kg. Heat treated meat dropped 0.23% to R32.06, and domestic meat sales stayed the same at R11.61.

Hide & skin price progression
Date Hides/Kg Dorper/Skin Merino Skin Ostrich/skin
27/11 13.11 78.75 71.11  
15/01 13.45 83.13 84.89  
22/01 13.79 82.50 79.79  
29/01 13.93 84.44 79.17  
05/02 14.18 79.00 85.37 1590.25
12/02 14.35 79.17 93.27 1554.18
23/02 13.76 76.50 96.02 1561.59
01/03 14.09 68.93 94.00 1558.90
08/03 14.20 67.50 93.29 1550.67

 

Ostrich meat price progression
Date Exports Heated Domestic
05/02 45.12 35.55 11.61
12/02 45.12 32.78 11.61
23/02 43.30 32.73 11.61
01/03 42.88 32.46 11.61
08/03 42.29 32.06 11.61

 

Birthdays this week

28/03/1968: Ismail Gathoo, Esquire, Bethlehem.
28/03/1963: Brett Momberg, Little Slipper, Port Elizabeth.
28/03/1986: Mohomed Adam, Seadoone Shoes, Amanzimtoti.
29/03/1949: Jose Alves, Unikem, Pinetown.
29/03/1963: Kosi Cooppan, Majenta Shoes, Durban.
29/03/1955: Dennis Manning, emigrated, formerly Trenzado Footwear.
29/03/1954: Keith Alexander ?
29/03/1951: Byron Ludlow, Michelle Footwear, Durban.
29/03/1974: Julian Zuluaga, Futura Footwear, Pinetown.
30/03/1946: Sarel Broodryk, retired, formerly Exotan, Port Elizabeth.
31/03/1975: Imraam Essop, Baby Luv, Springs.
31/03/1986: Nazir Mahomed, Power Save Cash & Carry, Mpumalanga.
31/03/1966: Lars Torpus, ex-Nakara, Windhoek.
01/04/1960: Steve Hildebrand, agent, Pinetown.
01/04/1967: Peter Jönsson, formerly TFL SA and others, Johannesburg.
01/04/1969: Jenny Hopkins, agent, Port Elizabeth.
02/04/1969: Chris Govender, Bugatti Shoe, Pietermaritzburg.
02/04/1970: Gerhard Rossouw, CG Distributors, Paarl.
02/04/1974: Shaheen Hoosen, Kana’s Wholesalers, Pretoria.
02/04/1969: Chris Govender, formerly Bugatti [closed], now Evoné, Pietermaritzburg.
03/04/1959: Grant Harris, emigrated, formerly Shoe Strip Services [closed], Pinetown.
03/04/1963: Bruce Wilson, Hotter SA, Cape Town.

 

In Memoriam this week

28/03/2011: Brian Berger (b. 25/12/1963), Armadillo Footwear, Johannesburg.
29/03/2008: Jeff Bub (b. 28/09/1942), In Shoes/In Clothing [closed], Cape Town.
01/04/2002: Paul Moeller (b. 20/07/1931), PMC Group, Cape Town.
01/04/2001: John Rider, Colin D Bailey/BU Shoe Machinery, Pinetown.

 


  

Contact us

News & Classifieds: Tony Dickson, +27 (0)31 209 7505, tony@svmag.co.za

Next newsletter: April 4, 2016

Should you wish to subscribe email tony@svmag.co.za
Our website www.svmag.co.za
Twitter @SandVMagazine1

 

 

 

©2017 S&V Publications